Ergobaby Everyday | Laurel Galucci

Early mornings, nature, and healing through food are a wonderful recipe for a family. We’re so thrilled to share some family rhythms of Laurel Galucci, co-founder of Sweet Laurel Bakery. Take a sweet break and read more about how this family stays connected and gets it all done. And be sure to check out our live with Laurel where she shares how to make Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Spice Muffins! Yum!

Tell us about your family.

We are a family of 4. My husband and I have a three in a half year old and 8 month old! Both boys, Nico and Cal.

Describe your parenting style.

We co-parent to the extreme. There is nothing I do that my husband cannot do besides breastfeeding. I would call him a very empowered parent in that he has full confidence to care for our children as I do because from the beginning he has been hands on. We have a nanny who is part of our family as well, who offers this type of care as well. With our toddler, we have begun to enter the world of ’strong conversations’ I would call them. He gets frustrated, for example if he cannot do something that he really wants to do, so we have to talk about it. We are learning how to communicate with each other each day. We also are a very touchy-feeling family. Always hugging and cuddling. I think this is because this is how my husband and I are, so it extends into our parenting as well.

What does a typical day in your family look like?

Cal, our 8 month old wakes up first. I feed him in bed and we slowly get up. My husband gets up and makes coffee and breakfast usually. He has been going into the office lately, and sometimes works from home. I play with both boys until our nanny arrives, and then I start work. I work from home mostly, so I get to feed Cal every three hours about and I have lunch with the kiddos. Around 4:30 or 5pm I close my laptop, and when my husband comes home we usually go for a family walk or bike ride and then come and make dinner, followed by the kid’s bath and bedtime. My husband and I then clean up dinner kitchen together and usually have a little sweet treat together. Most nights we plug in and get some work done, or we hang out and go to bed. I like to be in bed by 11pm. It’s a treat if I am in bed by 10pm! On the weekends it’s usually a family beach day and\or hike!

How has that changed since the Covid-19 crisis?

I was going into work each day, and I love being home with them. Even though I’m working, it is very nice to be with them during my nursing breaks and lunch time chats!

How does your family stay connected?

We spend time together in nature. That is our favorite thing to do, whether it is on a walk, in our own yard or on a hike!

What brings you joy?

Personally, I get so re-charged and I get so much joy when I’m with my husband and kids. Spending time with them, when we have no plans or are not working, is my favorite!

What does home mean for your family?

A place where we are all comfortable and can be ourselves. It is low key enough that we can lay on the couch and ready a book, but also an environment of calm and beauty, that puts you at ease as soon as you walk in the door.

How does babywearing help you at home? Helping with other siblings? Getting work done?

It helps with everything!!! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said to my husband, “Can you wear Cal and do this?” Or “I will wear Cal and do that…” Multiple times a day! Naps with our kids on our chest are literally like a re-charge. There is something special about that skin to skin moment.

If you or your partner work, how does work inspire your family?

We are both inspired by what we do. For my husband, he creates sustainable and efficient spaces. He loves it, and has even applied it to our own home. For me, I get to educate people on how to better nourish themselves and their family and create products that do so. It is the best, and literally fuels me.

Christina is a mama, conservationist, DIY’er, vintage fanatic, dog lover and the Ergobaby director of community. She is passionate about babies, babywearing, birth, yoga, natural living, and healthy eats. When not online reading and writing about all of the above, she can be found spending time with her daughter, creating their family story in Los Angeles.

Facebook Twitter YouTube